ob boy logo 1400

Saturday 30th


'OH BOY!' SHOW # 38  (Compered by Tony Hall & Jimmy Henney)

Lord Rockingham's XI, 
Red Price,
The Dallas Boys,
Neville Taylor & The Cutters,
Cherry Wainer,
The Vernons Girls.

Bill Forbes                                           
Billy Fury
Cliff Richard
'Cuddly' Dudley
Dickie Pride
Don Lang
Lorie Mann
Marty Wilde
Mike Preston
Peter Elliott

One of only two known surviving shows from the entire series. This is the show which has been played on network television in Britain during the “TV Heaven” series on Channel 4 in the  early 1980s and from which extensive clips have been taken for inclusion in numerous documentaries for more than 25 years.

Cliff Richard’s sultry take on Fabian’s 1959 hit “Turn Me Loose” has been used on television hundreds of times, one of the earliest repeat showings being on the “The Kenny Everett Video Show" (Thames TV) back in 1978.
Another clip frequently used is the novelty song “Three Cool Cats” sung by Cliff Richard, Marty Wilde and Dickie Pride with some unusual ‘seductive’ choreography provided by three of the Vernons Girls during the instrumental break. Other more memorable moments demanded as clips by producers include Billy Fury’s performance of “Don’t Knock Upon My Door” and Cliff and Marty fronting the entire “Oh Boy!” cast on “When The Saints Go Marching In”.

In this final show there are 10  featured guest artistes (in contrast to the usual 6 or 7) in addition to the resident Lord Rockingham XI band as Jack crammed in abridged highlights of all the best songs in the series to make it go out with a bang! At the end of the show co-host Jimmy Henney announces that “Oh Boy!” will be coming off for the summer season but will be back for a brand new series commencing on 12th September 1959. However when the new series did return its name was changed  to “Boy Meets Girl” . More noticeably and to its detriment, the genuine atmosphere of excitement was lost as the cast had to move from the live Hackney Empire to the sedate and reserved setting of Manchester’s ABC studios in Didsbury. Reviews of the new series said it had lost the excitement and edge which were so characteristic of the live “Oh Boy!" shows!

Cliff, Marty and the rest of the cast perform the final number sung on "Oh Boy!"

The very last image from the last few seconds of the last show

For full details of what numbers were performed and by whom, please see the Who sang what? page

Read 998 times Last modified on Sunday, 02 October 2016 14:06
More in this category: « Saturday 23rd



John Barry -
The Man With the Midas Touch

Order our book here

Our book "John Barry - The Man With the Midas Touch" is now only available for purchase at a reduced price via this website.

Over 300 pages in length, with a foreword by Don Black, the hardcover book includes many unique photos, in both black & white and colour. Order now!

UK customers who order the book before Brexit is complete will receive a free copy of the CD -- John Barry - The Early Years  -- the only CD to include all the tracks John recorded for the Chappell Music Library in 1959.

Apologies that due to the high cost of postage we can only make this offer to UK residents.




John Barry -
The Early Years CD

You can order our CD here

The full track listing: 1. Be Mine - Lance Fortune; 2. It's Not Too Late - Johnny Gavotte; 3. The Clanger March - Des Lane; 4. Arrivederci Baby - Little Tony & His Brothers; 5. You Made me Love You - Johnny De Little; 6. Easy Beat - Bert Weedon; 7. Heartbeat - The England Sisters; 8. Youthful Years - Danny William's; 9. I Vibrate - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 10. Mood One - The John Barry Orchestra; 11. I want my Bed - Bobby Shafto; 12. Keep A Walkin' - Tony Rocco; 13. Mood Two - The John Barry Orchestra; 14. Action - Lance Fortune; 15. If the Young Ones can be Happy - Billy Cotton; 16. Mood Three - The John Barry Orchestra; 17. Love's a Secret Game - Dennis Lotis; 18. Love Me - Danny Davis; 19. Mood Four - The John Barry Orchestra; 20. The Makings of a Man - Peter Gordeno; 21. Marilyn - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 22. Moonbird - Des Lane; 23. Never Ending - Mark Tracey; 24. Nowhere in this World - Derry Hart & The Hartbeats; 25. Opposites - Billy Cotton & Kathie Kay; 26. Smoky Blues - The John Barry Orchestra; 27. Ramona - The Five Dallas Boys; 28. They - Johnny De Little; 29. Trouble Shooter - Bob Miller & The Millermen; 30. You're My Only Girl - Danny Davis; 31. Baby Talk - Bill & Brett Landis; 32. I Got Eyes - Peter Gordeno; 33. The Lolly Theme - The John Barry Orchestra; 34. Santa Claus is coming to Town - Nina & Frederik; 35. Silent Night - Nina & Frederik; 36. White Christmas - Nina & Frederik; Total running time 78' 59"

© 2017 - Oh Boy! Geoff Leonard. All Rights Reserved. ohboy.org.uk re-constructed from original site by Ruud Rozemeijer. Template Design By ThemeLan.