ob boy logo 1400

Saturday 23rd

'OH BOY!' SHOW # 37  (Compered by Jimmy Henney)


Lord Rockingham's XI, 
Red Price,
The Dallas Boys,
Neville Taylor & The Cutters,
Cherry Wainer,
The Vernons Girls.

Bill Forbes
Billy Fury
Cliff Richard
Dickie Pride
Marty Wilde
Renee Martz
Terry White

This is the twelfth show of 13 recorded for export to the United States. It is now thought that this original telerecording, once catalogued with ABC at Teddington, Middlesex until 1968, may be in the private hands of someone in the United Kingdom.

Also some of the 13 copies sent to America are known to exist and in the possession of a private collector in Arizona or New Mexico.

This show is unique at present because an extract from it survives to this day. A two minute clip of Cliff and the Drifters performing their latest single “Mean Streak” was lifted from the show for inclusion in a documentary made in April 1966 to celebrate the 10th anniversary of ABC Television.

The hour long show, called the “ABC of ABC”  which is mostly a documentary on the cultural changes in Britain from 1956 to 1966 and co-presented by Eamon Andrews and actress Billie Whitelaw, survives and is retained by the British Film Institute in London.

At present this is the only “Oh Boy!" footage found other than the two surviving editions of 4th April and 30th May 1959

See “Where Have The Shows Gone?” page for further details on this 23rd May outtake.

Jack’s attempts to secure American singer Jackie “Reet Petite” Wilson for this show did not materialize.

Jack ensured that his all-time “Oh Boy!” favourites were booked for the final two shows of the series. They included Cliff Richard, Marty Wilde, Billy Fury, Dickie Pride and Bill Forbes.

Renee Martz, an American teenage preacher with a deep soulful voice makes his second and final appearance in the series. He had previously appeared on the 18th April edition.

Newcomer Terry White makes his one and only appearance (see picture on right of him with Cliff and Jack Good).

Read 3063 times Last modified on Sunday, 28 August 2016 14:49
Login to post comments



The Stringbeat Years cover2

Now available!

The Stringbeat Years: Songs accompanied by John Barry

Now available, a 4-CD box-set comprising of 144 tracks, a 24-page booklet (replete with period photographs and comprehensive notes) and including ten bonus tracks (among them the CD debut of the first ever cover version of a John Barry instrumental composition).

Featuring – for the first time – the film versions of ‘Mix me a Person’, ‘The Time has Come’, and ‘What a Whopper’ (slightly shortened). There’s also an unique opportunity to hear the original version of ‘Ah, Poor Little Baby’, making its premiere appearance on CD.

The box-set is limited to 500 copies and is only £16.99 post-free in the UK, so don’t miss out! It is available direct from this website!

£16.99  post-free in the UK
£19.99  anywhere else in the world

Order now!

Let us know if you aren't able to do this and we'll work out another way. 

Track listing


HitAndMiss 1000

Thoroughly and painstakingly researched over a number of years, it features contributions from several ex-members of the band and from friends and relatives of John Barry.

Comprising of over 360 pages, it is packed with an array of rare photos of the band, and the singers they often supported, as well as some unique images of memorabilia and documentation from that era; some never previously published, many more seldom seen.

Even if you are not necessarily a devotee of The John Barry Seven per se, the book offers a fascinating historical insight into the British music scene of the period and, more importantly, provides an essential read for anybody remotely interested in discovering more about John Barry’s formative career.

The book’s cover price is £30, but anybody ordering direct from us will receive a 33% discount, reducing the cost to £19.99.

Order now (click this line)!

© 2020 - Oh Boy! Geoff Leonard. All Rights Reserved. ohboy.org.uk was re-constructed from the original website. Template Design By ThemeLan.