ob boy logo 1400

Friday 21st

The NME announces Larry Parnes will not release Marty Wilde from his 3 year contract. (See first scan below)

NME announces Michael Holliday is booked for “Oh Boy!” in December. (See second scan below)

LARRY PARNES announced this week that, despite requests from the singer, he would not release Big Beat star Marty Wilde from his current contract.

He told the NME: "I intend to go ahead with my plans for Marty. At present they involve a film and a Scandinavian tour next year."

COLUMBIA'S Michael Holliday is the latest big name attraction booked by producer Jack Good for his ABC-TV Saturday evening "Oh Boy!" show. Mike is set to appear on December 6, while the following Saturday (13th), marks the debut of Parlophone's Glen Mason.

Bill Forbes, discovered by Jack Good at an audition, has been signed by Columbia records. He makes another appearance on December 13.

One week later, American rock singer, Vince Taylor, undertakes the first of several guest spots. Fontana's new artist, Carmita, is booked for the same date. (20th).

The King Brothers appear on December 27th, replacing the Dallas Boys, who will be appearing on "6.5 Special" on that date.

Resident singer Peter Elliott has been booked for a further seven appearances, plus an option of six more, making a total of 13. Comperes Tony Hall and Jimmy Henney have also been booked until March.


It is likely that the show will shortly be increased in length, rather than presented as a two-part production. A gala December 27 production may launch the first of these longer shows.
Jack Good is confident of the show being extended still further, probably until June.

Midland viewers may have an opportunity of attending a performance of "Oh Boy!" in December. It is planned to run a special train from Birmingham to London one week-end next month so that fans in the area may form the audience in the studio.

Talks have progressed this week for the TV show to be presented on stage. The full TV cast are likely attractions, but television rehearsal rquirements will probably restrict the show to the London area.

EMI's LP record featuring most of the "Oh Boy!" company is scheduled for release on Dec. 5.

Harry Robinson, musical director of the series, was married on Monday to model Ziki Arnot. He returns from a brief Paris honeymoon today (Friday). Meanwhile, Cy Payne has deputised for him at rehearsals.

Read 1438 times Last modified on Wednesday, 31 August 2016 19:58
Login to post comments


HitAndMiss 1000

Thoroughly and painstakingly researched over a number of years, it features contributions from several ex-members of the band and from friends and relatives of John Barry.

Comprising of over 360 pages, it is packed with an array of rare photos of the band, and the singers they often supported, as well as some unique images of memorabilia and documentation from that era; some never previously published, many more seldom seen.

Even if you are not necessarily a devotee of The John Barry Seven per se, the book offers a fascinating historical insight into the British music scene of the period and, more importantly, provides an essential read for anybody remotely interested in discovering more about John Barry’s formative career.

The book’s cover price is £30, but anybody ordering direct from us will receive a 33% discount, reducing the cost to £19.99.

Order now (click this line)!


John Barry -
The Early Years CD

You can order our CD here

The full track listing: 1. Be Mine - Lance Fortune; 2. It's Not Too Late - Johnny Gavotte; 3. The Clanger March - Des Lane; 4. Arrivederci Baby - Little Tony & His Brothers; 5. You Made me Love You - Johnny De Little; 6. Easy Beat - Bert Weedon; 7. Heartbeat - The England Sisters; 8. Youthful Years - Danny William's; 9. I Vibrate - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 10. Mood One - The John Barry Orchestra; 11. I want my Bed - Bobby Shafto; 12. Keep A Walkin' - Tony Rocco; 13. Mood Two - The John Barry Orchestra; 14. Action - Lance Fortune; 15. If the Young Ones can be Happy - Billy Cotton; 16. Mood Three - The John Barry Orchestra; 17. Love's a Secret Game - Dennis Lotis; 18. Love Me - Danny Davis; 19. Mood Four - The John Barry Orchestra; 20. The Makings of a Man - Peter Gordeno; 21. Marilyn - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 22. Moonbird - Des Lane; 23. Never Ending - Mark Tracey; 24. Nowhere in this World - Derry Hart & The Hartbeats; 25. Opposites - Billy Cotton & Kathie Kay; 26. Smoky Blues - The John Barry Orchestra; 27. Ramona - The Five Dallas Boys; 28. They - Johnny De Little; 29. Trouble Shooter - Bob Miller & The Millermen; 30. You're My Only Girl - Danny Davis; 31. Baby Talk - Bill & Brett Landis; 32. I Got Eyes - Peter Gordeno; 33. The Lolly Theme - The John Barry Orchestra; 34. Santa Claus is coming to Town - Nina & Frederik; 35. Silent Night - Nina & Frederik; 36. White Christmas - Nina & Frederik; Total running time 78' 59"

© 2020 - Oh Boy! Geoff Leonard. All Rights Reserved. ohboy.org.uk was re-constructed from the original website. Template Design By ThemeLan.