ob boy logo 1400

Friday 20th

The NME reveals that Marty Wilde loses out to Cliff Richard in the starring role in the new film “Expresso Bongo.”:

CLIFF RICHARD has secured a starring role in the screen version of "Expresso Bongo." Cliff edges out Marty Wilde, who was also considered for the leading part of Bongo Herbert. Instead, Marty has a new screen role lined up in another big feature film - "Paradise for Baby."

The screen version of "Expresso Bongo" will greatly differ from the successful stage satire. Producer Val Guest told the NME: "A complete new score is being written and will incorporate only three of the original numbers." Cliff's own famous accompanying group, The Drifters, join him in the film. A number of other big beat personalities, not yet chosen, will also be featured.

Before making a final decision between the two rock singers, producer Guest saw both Cliff's film " Serious Charge," now awaiting release, and rushes of Marty's current picture, "Jetstream," which is still in production. "I chose Cliff because I saw him as the most likely of the two to fit the part," Guest said. "I thought they were both excellent on the screen."

"Expresso Bongo" filming is expected to begin on location in Soho on August 10, followed by interior shooting at Shepperton Studios. No contracts have actually been signed yet, but Peter Sellers and Diane Cilento are expected to co-star with Cliff.

Marty Wilde is to star in "Paradise for Baby" for Hughie Green Productions. Shooting is set to begin on June 1. This film is about rival dance halls and has been under discussion for many months. Now both terms and script have been approved by Marty's agent, Larry Parnes. Tomorrow (Saturday) a final script conference is to be held. It is expected that other top name signings will be announced next week.

Read 1549 times Last modified on Wednesday, 31 August 2016 21:10
Login to post comments


HitAndMiss 1000

Thoroughly and painstakingly researched over a number of years, it features contributions from several ex-members of the band and from friends and relatives of John Barry.

Comprising of over 360 pages, it is packed with an array of rare photos of the band, and the singers they often supported, as well as some unique images of memorabilia and documentation from that era; some never previously published, many more seldom seen.

Even if you are not necessarily a devotee of The John Barry Seven per se, the book offers a fascinating historical insight into the British music scene of the period and, more importantly, provides an essential read for anybody remotely interested in discovering more about John Barry’s formative career.

The book’s cover price is £30, but anybody ordering direct from us will receive a 33% discount, reducing the cost to £19.99.

Order now (click this line)!


John Barry -
The Early Years CD

You can order our CD here

The full track listing: 1. Be Mine - Lance Fortune; 2. It's Not Too Late - Johnny Gavotte; 3. The Clanger March - Des Lane; 4. Arrivederci Baby - Little Tony & His Brothers; 5. You Made me Love You - Johnny De Little; 6. Easy Beat - Bert Weedon; 7. Heartbeat - The England Sisters; 8. Youthful Years - Danny William's; 9. I Vibrate - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 10. Mood One - The John Barry Orchestra; 11. I want my Bed - Bobby Shafto; 12. Keep A Walkin' - Tony Rocco; 13. Mood Two - The John Barry Orchestra; 14. Action - Lance Fortune; 15. If the Young Ones can be Happy - Billy Cotton; 16. Mood Three - The John Barry Orchestra; 17. Love's a Secret Game - Dennis Lotis; 18. Love Me - Danny Davis; 19. Mood Four - The John Barry Orchestra; 20. The Makings of a Man - Peter Gordeno; 21. Marilyn - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 22. Moonbird - Des Lane; 23. Never Ending - Mark Tracey; 24. Nowhere in this World - Derry Hart & The Hartbeats; 25. Opposites - Billy Cotton & Kathie Kay; 26. Smoky Blues - The John Barry Orchestra; 27. Ramona - The Five Dallas Boys; 28. They - Johnny De Little; 29. Trouble Shooter - Bob Miller & The Millermen; 30. You're My Only Girl - Danny Davis; 31. Baby Talk - Bill & Brett Landis; 32. I Got Eyes - Peter Gordeno; 33. The Lolly Theme - The John Barry Orchestra; 34. Santa Claus is coming to Town - Nina & Frederik; 35. Silent Night - Nina & Frederik; 36. White Christmas - Nina & Frederik; Total running time 78' 59"

© 2020 - Oh Boy! Geoff Leonard. All Rights Reserved. ohboy.org.uk was re-constructed from the original website. Template Design By ThemeLan.