ob boy logo 1400

Friday 30th

“Oh Boy!” Travelling Show. Commodore Theatre, Hammersmith, West London.

NME announces that the “Oh Boy!” series is such a success that it has been extended yet again. Due to end in March 1959 it will now extend to 30th May. The approval to continue the series was no doubt helped by the clinching of the deal to sell some of the shows to the United States, which was nearing completion at this time:

"Oh Boy!" has been extended again! ABC-TV told producer Jack Good this week it will now continue weekly until May 30. He then plans a holiday and presumes the show will return in the autumn. By the time the series ends, Good predicts that it will have produced at least one other star. "Marty Wilde, Cliff Richard and someone else will form the spearhead of "Oh Boy!", Jack told the NME. "I think the someone may be Bill Forbes. He has appeared in the programme four or five times and is definitely catching on."

Forbes appears on February 14 and 28 and then at least five more times before the final programme on May 30. Either he, Cliff, or Marty is expected to be in each programme until the end. Producer Good expects all the regulars to continue during the extension. Neville Taylor and The Cutters miss the February 7 and 14 programmes, however. There will also be occasional guest appearances by established stars and Jack Good still hopes to book suitable visiting American artists.

The stage presentation of "Oh Boy!" started with an uncolourful first-night at Hammersmith Commodore on Sunday. Because of licensing regulations, artists were stopped from wearing their normal stage costumes. Lord Rockingham's XI, Britain's most unconventional band, appeared in very conventional dinner-jackets instead of its pink television uniforms. The Vernons Girls' dance routines had to be drastically curtailed.

Read 1506 times Last modified on Wednesday, 31 August 2016 21:58
Login to post comments


HitAndMiss 1000

Thoroughly and painstakingly researched over a number of years, it features contributions from several ex-members of the band and from friends and relatives of John Barry.

Comprising of over 360 pages, it is packed with an array of rare photos of the band, and the singers they often supported, as well as some unique images of memorabilia and documentation from that era; some never previously published, many more seldom seen.

Even if you are not necessarily a devotee of The John Barry Seven per se, the book offers a fascinating historical insight into the British music scene of the period and, more importantly, provides an essential read for anybody remotely interested in discovering more about John Barry’s formative career.

The book’s cover price is £30, but anybody ordering direct from us will receive a 33% discount, reducing the cost to £19.99.

Order now (click this line)!


John Barry -
The Early Years CD

You can order our CD here

The full track listing: 1. Be Mine - Lance Fortune; 2. It's Not Too Late - Johnny Gavotte; 3. The Clanger March - Des Lane; 4. Arrivederci Baby - Little Tony & His Brothers; 5. You Made me Love You - Johnny De Little; 6. Easy Beat - Bert Weedon; 7. Heartbeat - The England Sisters; 8. Youthful Years - Danny William's; 9. I Vibrate - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 10. Mood One - The John Barry Orchestra; 11. I want my Bed - Bobby Shafto; 12. Keep A Walkin' - Tony Rocco; 13. Mood Two - The John Barry Orchestra; 14. Action - Lance Fortune; 15. If the Young Ones can be Happy - Billy Cotton; 16. Mood Three - The John Barry Orchestra; 17. Love's a Secret Game - Dennis Lotis; 18. Love Me - Danny Davis; 19. Mood Four - The John Barry Orchestra; 20. The Makings of a Man - Peter Gordeno; 21. Marilyn - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 22. Moonbird - Des Lane; 23. Never Ending - Mark Tracey; 24. Nowhere in this World - Derry Hart & The Hartbeats; 25. Opposites - Billy Cotton & Kathie Kay; 26. Smoky Blues - The John Barry Orchestra; 27. Ramona - The Five Dallas Boys; 28. They - Johnny De Little; 29. Trouble Shooter - Bob Miller & The Millermen; 30. You're My Only Girl - Danny Davis; 31. Baby Talk - Bill & Brett Landis; 32. I Got Eyes - Peter Gordeno; 33. The Lolly Theme - The John Barry Orchestra; 34. Santa Claus is coming to Town - Nina & Frederik; 35. Silent Night - Nina & Frederik; 36. White Christmas - Nina & Frederik; Total running time 78' 59"

© 2020 - Oh Boy! Geoff Leonard. All Rights Reserved. ohboy.org.uk was re-constructed from the original website. Template Design By ThemeLan.