ob boy logo 1400

Friday 6th

NME reveals the extent of Cliff's throat problems:

CLIFF RICHARD had to miss his guest spot in ATV's "Jack Jackson Show" on Wednesday because of throat trouble, and there is a big doubt whether he will be fit enough for "Oh Boy!" tomorrow (Saturday). He also had to cancel his appearances at the Lyceum Ballroom, London, where he had been at the centre of sensational scenes on Monday.
Rioting among the dancers broke out as he made his entrance for the first of the week's cabaret spots in this major London dance hall.

Rock 'n' roller Vince Taylor, who was in the audience, said: "They even threw people at Cliff! I don't think they liked his pink jacket."

On Tuesday it was announced that Cliff would be unable to fulfil his engagement as he was suffering from laryngitis. The extent of his illness was more serious than was originally thought.

Young singer Terry Wayne ably stood in at short notice. Billy Fury deputised in the Jack Jackson Show on Wednesday.

Due to his condition, there is grave doubt whether Cliff will be appearing on "Oh Boy!" on Saturday night. Jack Good expressed concern as Cliff was due to sing five solo numbers and three duets on the show.

Next week Cliff is due at EMI recording studios to record his new LP. There will be an audience of boys and girls from different countries.

NME announces more guest stars lined up for “Oh Boy!” appearances:

NEW Columbia signing Dickie Pride makes his television debut in ABC-TV's "Oh Boy!" on Saturday, February 28. Dickie, another Larry Parnes discovery, was signed by Columbia a and r man Norrie Paramor this week.

Ronnie Carroll returns to the show on the same date. Another re-booking is that of discovery Roy Young, who guests tomorrow (Saturday).

Among other bookings are: Riki Henderson and Jerry Dorsey (February 21). Billy Fury (February 14 and March 14), Mike Preston and Vince Eager (March 7) and Don Lang (February 14 and 21, March 14 and April 14).

Read 1401 times
More in this category: « Monday 2nd Saturday 7th »
Login to post comments


HitAndMiss 1000

Thoroughly and painstakingly researched over a number of years, it features contributions from several ex-members of the band and from friends and relatives of John Barry.

Comprising of over 360 pages, it is packed with an array of rare photos of the band, and the singers they often supported, as well as some unique images of memorabilia and documentation from that era; some never previously published, many more seldom seen.

Even if you are not necessarily a devotee of The John Barry Seven per se, the book offers a fascinating historical insight into the British music scene of the period and, more importantly, provides an essential read for anybody remotely interested in discovering more about John Barry’s formative career.

The book’s cover price is £30, but anybody ordering direct from us will receive a 33% discount, reducing the cost to £19.99.

Order now (click this line)!


John Barry -
The Early Years CD

You can order our CD here

The full track listing: 1. Be Mine - Lance Fortune; 2. It's Not Too Late - Johnny Gavotte; 3. The Clanger March - Des Lane; 4. Arrivederci Baby - Little Tony & His Brothers; 5. You Made me Love You - Johnny De Little; 6. Easy Beat - Bert Weedon; 7. Heartbeat - The England Sisters; 8. Youthful Years - Danny William's; 9. I Vibrate - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 10. Mood One - The John Barry Orchestra; 11. I want my Bed - Bobby Shafto; 12. Keep A Walkin' - Tony Rocco; 13. Mood Two - The John Barry Orchestra; 14. Action - Lance Fortune; 15. If the Young Ones can be Happy - Billy Cotton; 16. Mood Three - The John Barry Orchestra; 17. Love's a Secret Game - Dennis Lotis; 18. Love Me - Danny Davis; 19. Mood Four - The John Barry Orchestra; 20. The Makings of a Man - Peter Gordeno; 21. Marilyn - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 22. Moonbird - Des Lane; 23. Never Ending - Mark Tracey; 24. Nowhere in this World - Derry Hart & The Hartbeats; 25. Opposites - Billy Cotton & Kathie Kay; 26. Smoky Blues - The John Barry Orchestra; 27. Ramona - The Five Dallas Boys; 28. They - Johnny De Little; 29. Trouble Shooter - Bob Miller & The Millermen; 30. You're My Only Girl - Danny Davis; 31. Baby Talk - Bill & Brett Landis; 32. I Got Eyes - Peter Gordeno; 33. The Lolly Theme - The John Barry Orchestra; 34. Santa Claus is coming to Town - Nina & Frederik; 35. Silent Night - Nina & Frederik; 36. White Christmas - Nina & Frederik; Total running time 78' 59"

© 2020 - Oh Boy! Geoff Leonard. All Rights Reserved. ohboy.org.uk was re-constructed from the original website. Template Design By ThemeLan.