ob boy logo 1400

Saturday 9th

'OH BOY!' SHOW # 35 (Compered by Jimmy Henney)


Lord Rockingham's XI,
Red Price,
The Dallas Boys,
Neville Taylor & The Cutters,
Cherry Wainer,
The Vernons Girls.

Billy Fury
Conway Twitty
'Cuddly' Dudley
Dean Webb
Dickie Pride
Marty Wilde
Maureen Kershaw
Tony Sheridan & The Wreckers

This is the tenth show of 13 recorded for export to the United States. It is now thought that this original telerecording, once catalogued with ABC at Teddington, Middlesex until 1968, may be in the private hands of someone in the United Kingdom.

Also some of the 13 copies sent to America are known to exist and in the possession of a private collector in Arizona or New Mexico.

Conway Twitty flies in from the United States especially for the first of two consecutive performances on this show and next week's 16th May edition. In the show he sang his number 1 smash hit “It’s Only Make Believe.” (see photo on left)

Cuddly Dudley makes his 18th and penultimate appearance. He would appear again in the final show on 30th May in which many of the “Oh Boy!" stars were booked to perform abridged versions of their songs in an action packed show.

Dean Webb makes his second and final showing.

Tony Sheridan and his Wreckers make their sixth and last appearance.

Maureen Kershaw makes her only appearance in the series.

After the show many viewers switched channels to watch Cliff Richard and the Drifters make their BBC debut appearance on “Drumbeat.”

Cliff makes his BBC television debut with not one, but TWO appearances on the same night! At 6.30 pm he and the Drifters starred in BBC’s pop show “Drumbeat” along with Terry Dene. It is probable he promoted his new single release “Mean Streak” which he did the previous week on “Oh Boy!" (2nd May 1959).

An hour later on BBC at 7.30pm Cliff and the Drifters topped the bill in “Here’s To The Next Time” a 35th anniversary tribute show to Henry Hall. Both shows were broadcast live and probably never telerecorded. As a result these performances are presumed lost forever.

Read 1375 times Last modified on Wednesday, 31 August 2016 21:01
More in this category: « Friday 8th Monday 11th »



John Barry -
The Man With the Midas Touch

Order our book here

Our book "John Barry - The Man With the Midas Touch" is now only available for purchase at a reduced price via this website.

Over 300 pages in length, with a foreword by Don Black, the hardcover book includes many unique photos, in both black & white and colour. Order now!

UK customers who order the book before Brexit is complete will receive a free copy of the CD -- John Barry - The Early Years  -- the only CD to include all the tracks John recorded for the Chappell Music Library in 1959.

Apologies that due to the high cost of postage we can only make this offer to UK residents.




John Barry -
The Early Years CD

You can order our CD here

The full track listing: 1. Be Mine - Lance Fortune; 2. It's Not Too Late - Johnny Gavotte; 3. The Clanger March - Des Lane; 4. Arrivederci Baby - Little Tony & His Brothers; 5. You Made me Love You - Johnny De Little; 6. Easy Beat - Bert Weedon; 7. Heartbeat - The England Sisters; 8. Youthful Years - Danny William's; 9. I Vibrate - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 10. Mood One - The John Barry Orchestra; 11. I want my Bed - Bobby Shafto; 12. Keep A Walkin' - Tony Rocco; 13. Mood Two - The John Barry Orchestra; 14. Action - Lance Fortune; 15. If the Young Ones can be Happy - Billy Cotton; 16. Mood Three - The John Barry Orchestra; 17. Love's a Secret Game - Dennis Lotis; 18. Love Me - Danny Davis; 19. Mood Four - The John Barry Orchestra; 20. The Makings of a Man - Peter Gordeno; 21. Marilyn - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 22. Moonbird - Des Lane; 23. Never Ending - Mark Tracey; 24. Nowhere in this World - Derry Hart & The Hartbeats; 25. Opposites - Billy Cotton & Kathie Kay; 26. Smoky Blues - The John Barry Orchestra; 27. Ramona - The Five Dallas Boys; 28. They - Johnny De Little; 29. Trouble Shooter - Bob Miller & The Millermen; 30. You're My Only Girl - Danny Davis; 31. Baby Talk - Bill & Brett Landis; 32. I Got Eyes - Peter Gordeno; 33. The Lolly Theme - The John Barry Orchestra; 34. Santa Claus is coming to Town - Nina & Frederik; 35. Silent Night - Nina & Frederik; 36. White Christmas - Nina & Frederik; Total running time 78' 59"

© 2020 - Oh Boy! Geoff Leonard. All Rights Reserved. ohboy.org.uk was re-constructed from the original website. Template Design By ThemeLan.