ob boy logo 1400

Friday 17th

The NME announces that big American star Conway Twitty is to fly to England to make two appearances on “Oh Boy!" during May:

ABC-TV's "Oh Boy!" has made its most exciting capture so far! Top American recording star Conway Twitty is the first star to fly direct from the States to appear on these programmes - on May 9 and 16! In addition, producer Jack Good has lined up a glittering array of Britain's top stars headed by Alma Cogan, Marty Wilde and Cliff Richard to appear in the show during May, and hopes that another American, Jackie Wilson, will also be featured. Twitty, originally scheduled to visit Britain this month in a package show, is the second visiting American star to appear on "Oh Boy!" It is possible that he will also undertake concert dates while he is here, but none have yet been negotiated. His recording of "It's Only Make Believe" became a No. 1 seller on both sides of the Atlantic, and MGM here are to release his new disc, "Hey Susie," to coincide with his visit.

Cliff Richard returns to the show as a special attraction on May 2, 23 and 30, joined on the first date by Alma Cogan as the guest star.

Marty Wilde is booked for every Saturday in May, while Billy Fury and Dickie Pride appear fortnightly - April 25, May 9, 23 (and 30).

Other block bookings go to Don Lang (April 25, May 16 and 30). Cuddly Dudley (April 25, May 16, 23 and 30), and Mike Preston (May 2, 16 and 30).

An unusual booking is Renee Martz, American teenage preacher, who appears with Nicky Martin and Michael Cox next week (April 25).

Other single dates so far confirmed are Maureen Kershaw, Dene Webb and Tony Sheridan (May 9), Lorie Mann and Pierce Rodgers (May 16) and Terry White (May 23).

Negotiations are taking place for American rock singer Jackie Wilson, whose disc successes include "Reet Petite" and "To Be Loved," to appear in the show on May 23.

Producer Jack Good plans a May visit to America with a view to signing attractions for the new series in the autumn.

Read 1493 times Last modified on Wednesday, 31 August 2016 20:59
Login to post comments


John Barry -
The Man With the Midas Touch

Order our book here

Our book "John Barry - The Man With the Midas Touch" is now only available for purchase at a reduced price via this website.

Over 300 pages in length, with a foreword by Don Black, the hardcover book includes many unique photos, in both black & white and colour. Order now!

UK customers who order the book before Brexit is complete will receive a free copy of the CD -- John Barry - The Early Years  -- the only CD to include all the tracks John recorded for the Chappell Music Library in 1959.

Apologies that due to the high cost of postage we can only make this offer to UK residents.




John Barry -
The Early Years CD

You can order our CD here

The full track listing: 1. Be Mine - Lance Fortune; 2. It's Not Too Late - Johnny Gavotte; 3. The Clanger March - Des Lane; 4. Arrivederci Baby - Little Tony & His Brothers; 5. You Made me Love You - Johnny De Little; 6. Easy Beat - Bert Weedon; 7. Heartbeat - The England Sisters; 8. Youthful Years - Danny William's; 9. I Vibrate - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 10. Mood One - The John Barry Orchestra; 11. I want my Bed - Bobby Shafto; 12. Keep A Walkin' - Tony Rocco; 13. Mood Two - The John Barry Orchestra; 14. Action - Lance Fortune; 15. If the Young Ones can be Happy - Billy Cotton; 16. Mood Three - The John Barry Orchestra; 17. Love's a Secret Game - Dennis Lotis; 18. Love Me - Danny Davis; 19. Mood Four - The John Barry Orchestra; 20. The Makings of a Man - Peter Gordeno; 21. Marilyn - Larry Page & The Saga Satellites; 22. Moonbird - Des Lane; 23. Never Ending - Mark Tracey; 24. Nowhere in this World - Derry Hart & The Hartbeats; 25. Opposites - Billy Cotton & Kathie Kay; 26. Smoky Blues - The John Barry Orchestra; 27. Ramona - The Five Dallas Boys; 28. They - Johnny De Little; 29. Trouble Shooter - Bob Miller & The Millermen; 30. You're My Only Girl - Danny Davis; 31. Baby Talk - Bill & Brett Landis; 32. I Got Eyes - Peter Gordeno; 33. The Lolly Theme - The John Barry Orchestra; 34. Santa Claus is coming to Town - Nina & Frederik; 35. Silent Night - Nina & Frederik; 36. White Christmas - Nina & Frederik; Total running time 78' 59"

© 2020 - Oh Boy! Geoff Leonard. All Rights Reserved. ohboy.org.uk was re-constructed from the original website. Template Design By ThemeLan.